Japanese Beauty Brands: K-Palette

Japanese drugstores are insanely overwhelming.  Walk into any one and you are assaulted by a myriad of posters and products plastered from wall to wall, brightly-coloured bombastic marker-drawn signs shouting deals at you from every corner. Going in there is dizzying. Most of the time, when I walk into one of these local drugstores, I’m so dazzled I instantly forget what I came here for, even to buy something like toothpaste. (Very often, I walk out without the thing I went there to buy.)

Japan is famous for its cosmetics. But its drugstores are ridiculously hard to navigate.  So I’m going to try and detail some of the makeup that I’ve bought while I’ve been here; and feature some brands that I like. If you’re planning to come to Japan in the near future and want to check out some of their makeup, maybe I can offer some suggestions for you.

The first brand I want to feature today is K-Palette. Of all the Japanese makeup I own, I think most of it comes from K-Palette. Their stuff is especially hard to find, because they usually aren’t found on the shelves or at the cosmetic counters.  Instead, they are hung from the wall, nondescript and very easy to bypass in the madness of Matsumoto Kiyoshi. One time, I found the K-Palette stuff hanging a mere few inches from the ceiling. Near impossible to retrieve, so I gave up.  Nevertheless, after trying out these products for some 2-3 months, I feel they are definitely worth the hunt – or at least worth giving a shot.

tmp_combined_photo

  1. 1-Day Tattoo Real Lasting Eyebrow Mascara – I never got into the whole eyebrow mascara thing until this. I was having trouble getting my eyebrow colour to hold for the entire day; it tended to fade after a couple of hours, which was really annoying because I hate touching up my makeup (or rather, I simply forget and wander around with half-on half-off eyebrows for the entire day). This solved my problem entirely.  Not only does the mascara tint my brows (thereby adding more colour), I’ve realised that it locks in my eyebrow powder so that that colour stays as well throughout the day. A+++, would recommend to anyone wanting to improve their brow game.
  2. 1-Day Tattoo Real Lasting Eyeliner Waterproof 24h in Black and IT’s DEMO x K-Palette 1-Day Tattoo Real Lasting Eyeliner 24h in Brown-Black – wow okay what a mouthful. I love the tips of the K-Palette eyeliners because they’re incredibly thin, giving me greater control over my cat-eye flicks and just generally preventing me from stabbing my eyeball. My gripe, however, is that the colour isn’t as intense or dark as I would like; sometimes it comes out perfectly and other times I have to go over the line multiple times to get the colour I want. So it’s a bit hit-and-miss. Especially the black one, which I use almost daily –  I suspect it is starting to dry up because it is getting near impossible to get a good solid line out of it.  However I have been using it for two months so maybe it is time to get a new one. My other gripe: it’s not completely waterproof. Near the end of the day, smudging isn’t uncommon and I’ve ended up with some unfortunate panda eyes more than once.

    (Incidentally, I bought the brown-black eyeliner purely for its beautiful packaging: it’s a limited edition Alice in Wonderland design and it’s soooo pretty)

  3. Zero Kuma Cover Control Concealer in 01 – solid, reliable concealer. It’s not as thick as say, Benefit’s boing!, but it provides some good coverage. It’s meant to be used for your undereye circles, however I find that it works great on blemishes and redness as well. Some days the consistency is a bit too heavy for my undereyes, so I don’t use it for my undereyes as often. Nevertheless, on my lousy face days when I need to cover up lots, this is the guy that I reach for, without fail. The concealer comes in three shades, depending on the problem you’re trying to tackle, but I think that shade 01 is a good all-rounder, as compared to shades 02 and 03, which are more about colour correcting.

So those are my recommendations from K-Palette. Let me know if you’ve tried anything else from there before, and what you thought!

Till next time,

x Nat

Leave a Reply

