melbourne trip prep pt 1: my carry-on liquids

In a couple of days I’ll be heading to Melbourne to hang out with my good friend/indulge in a solo gradtrip for a week.  It’s something I’ve been planning for a while now and I’m super excited…so excited, in fact, that I started packing more than a week in advance. I don’t mean just my luggage either.  My carry-on is completely packed as well.

So that being said, I thought I’d write a bit about what I’ve decided to bring on my flight to Melbourne.  I’m flying overnight, meaning that I’ll be sleeping on the plane – and since I’m travelling alone, I won’t have anybody to talk to or borrow stuff from etc. – I have to bring everything I need.  Today’s post is on my carry-on liquids: everything I put in that ziploc bag which comes under 100ml.

IMG_20150526_151149_1432624464762

1. Toothbrush + toothpaste
Since this is an overnight flight, I think this is self-explanatory. Please brush your teeth before you sleep and after you wake up, even when you are flying. I can’t imagine not doing that, it goes against my personal beliefs on hygiene.

2. The Face Shop Herb Day Cleansing Foam in Acerola + Innisfree Apple Juicy Liquid Foaming Cleanser (sample sizes)
Same as above. Not washing my face before and after I sleep feels like sacrilege. Who likes to be dirty on a plane already filled with dirty germs where you are placed in close proximity with others? Who likes to be in close proximity with dirty people? No one. Personal hygiene, people. I’m pretty filthy when it comes to personal hygiene but this is the absolute bare minimum.

3. Innisfree Green Tea Balancing Skin, decanted into a small tube
Because I love this too much. Also the air inside planes is really dry and messes up my skin.  The last thing I want on my holiday is to be obsessing about the zits on my face (which I will, any hint of redness and I will be picking constantly and staring at my face and making everything worse). This has really worked for my skin and has helped calm it down/balance it out.

4. Too Cool For School Pumpkin Sleeping Mask, decanted into small container
This sleeping pack will serve as my face moisturiser for the flight.  It’s more intense than your usual moisturiser, so it’s good for the plane with its dry air.  In addition, I figure since I’m going to be sitting around for a good 8 hours with nowhere to go and nothing to do, I might as well take the chance to put all the chemicals on my face.

5. Innisfree Tea Tree it’s real squeeze mask
Sheet mask.  In case I get bored/want to put all the stuff on my face. Preferably when everyone is sleeping so I don’t get weird stares.

6. Contact lens + case
I wear contacts, but I won’t be wearing them on the flight – have you ever fallen asleep with your contacts on omg I did it once and regret was intense it took me forever to unglue my contacts from my eyeballs. I will be wearing my specs to the airport, but tbh this ziploc is also a toiletries bag so um in you go contacts.

7. Molton Brown ultrasmooth coco de mer body lotion + The Body Shop Solid Argan Oil
Moisturiser for places other than my face. I’m going to be sitting on my butt for a long time, guys.

8. The Body Shop Aloe Lipcare
Lip balm omg aka the most important thing in this bag I could throw away everything else in this bag except the toothbrush and I would survive the flight but if I’m stuck on the plane without lip balm I will cry.  My lips get super dry and cracked already in humid humid Singapore let alone in a plane with its constant aircon and dry circulated air as it hurtles through the dry dry atmosphere.  This is like a die die need thing.

9. Bath and Body Works Mediterranean Lemon hand sanitiser
Planes are filthy. I’m not touching my food/face with my dirty hands. (OK I might but I’m trying to cultivate good habits here.) Hand sanitiser means I don’t need to waddle awkwardly out of my seat to the toilet every time I need to touch something.

10. Marc by Marc Jacobs Daisy Eau so Fresh perfume rollerball
I want to smell nice. Don’t you want to smell nice? Rollerballs are great for travel no accidentally spraying your neighbour in the face or spilling the entire bottle on the floor during turbulence.  This fragrance also isn’t strong or cloying, so I don’t kill anybody sitting around me.

(On that note, another important thing to bring is DEODORANT. omg. I am bringing it but since it’s a solid deodorant it doesn’t need to go in this ziploc bag. Please please bring and use deodorant when you are going to be sitting around other people also don’t go sticking your hand up your armpits NEXT TO OTHER PEOPLE it’s strange and awkward do it before you go in or like go to the toilet or something)

All these items are under 100ml, and miraculously fit nicely into a 20x20cm ziploc bag, which closes securely and easily (as per airport regulations on both sides, which I checked).

IMG_20150526_151021_1432624549510

This does look like a lot of stuff but I won’t just be using this during the flight, this ziploc bag is also a toiletries bag for my trip, so all this stuff will be used throughout the week I’m in Melbourne as well.  Since it’s winter there all the chemicals will be well suited for the climate as well.  It seems that I’m a bit obsessed with my face and not breaking out but really, I don’t want spots on my face irritating me during my trip – hence all the chemicals.

Personal hygiene is so important guys. Especially when you are stuck in a metal container hurtling through the air with three hundred people for over eight hours.  Be considerate for your fellow travellers. Bring all the chemicals.

Am I bringing too much stuff? What would you consider the die-die essentials for flying?

x Nat

Leave a Reply

