update: i’m alive! + healthy(ish) muffins

Hi anyone who’s still reading this…

Sorry for the long hiatus.  After my last post it took a long time for the dust to settle and I felt that while it was definitely important (for me and for others) to write the post, I also felt that perhaps people would feel weird if I jumped straight from talking about sexual taboo to…makeup or something.  Sounds odd but yes this blog is for my frivolous thoughts and obsessions…so I’m sorry if you came here for a philosophical dialogue it’s not really going to happen much.

(not to say that my last post was in any way frivolous. you get the point.)

Also, life happens. School happens. I’m not a great person when it comes to schoolwork.  I hoped starting this blog would give me an outlet to destress, but instead I inadvertently placed more pressure on myself by thinking “OK I was supposed to update my blog…” and found increasingly that I had little to say.  I took pictures of things I wanted to write about, stuff I cooked (i haven’t even made a single food post on this blog yet, despite it being one of my great passions), etc. but I just kept putting off actually writing stuff.  I actually wrote up an entire post about a juice cleanse I did but then hesitated to hit the publish button…I’m not sure why. (that post will hopefully be up soon!)

Today’s post is not about excuses.  Today’s post is about food, because I love food. Today’s post is about baking, because I love baking. Today’s post also has a terrible picture, because by the time I remembered to take photographs, I had already dug in (whoops).

IMG_2253

This is not a very photogenic muffin. Sorry. But it is delicious…and somewhat healthy.

I made these lemon muffins based on a recipe from The Kitchn; but decided to make my own alterations to make things a beeet healthier: I swapped out the plain flour for wholemeal, and instead of toasted sesame seeds I used chia seeds for a protein boost. The result was a slightly denser muffin (next time maybe i’ll use a mix of 2/3 wholemeal 1/3 plain instead), but overall I really like it and it’s a great snack to grab and go for school. The lemon syrup is reminiscent of lemon drizzle cake and adds a guilty lemony kick to the muffin, which is mild in flavour and not very sweet.  It doesn’t feel decadent. It fills me up for a good few hours, and I”m pretty pleased with my experimentation results.

IMG_2275

Wholemeal lemon drizzle muffins with chia seeds
Makes 12 muffins

Ingredients:
Muffins
2 1/2 cups wholemeal flour
1/2 cups sugar
1/3 cups chia seeds
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3 large lemons, zested and juiced
1 1/4 cup milk
1/2 cup vegetable oil (I used canola)
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla

Lemon Syrup Drizzle
1/2 cup lemon juice (from the lemons above)
1/2 cup sugar

1. Preheat your oven to 180deg celsius. Prepare a 12-cup muffin/cupcake tray with liners, or use butter/oil to grease the cups if you don’t want to use liners.
2. Whisk the flour, sugar, chia seeds, salt, baking powder and lemon zest together in a large bowl.
3. In a small bowl beat together the wet ingredients: milk, egg, oil and vanilla until they are all mixed together.
4. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and beat with a wooden spoon until they are well-incorporated and the batter is smooth.
(Note: if you want your muffins to be lighter and fluffier you can try using an electric mixer.)
(Note 2: When chia seeds absorb liquid they expand and take on a thick, jelly-like texture.  So the texture of your batter may change and become a bit lumpy but don’t be worried.)
5. Divide up the batter amongst the cupcake liners, filling them until they are 2/3 full. Whack them in the oven for 20 minutes.
6. Whilst the muffins are baking, make the lemon drizzle. In a small saucepan over a low-medium heat, whisk the lemon juice and sugar together and boil for approx. 5-10 minutes until slightly reduced and not so watery. Remove from heat.
7. When the muffins are done (i.e. when you stick a toothpick in and it comes out clean), remove from the oven and place on a counter to cool. Use a fork and stab your muffins a few times, then take your lemon syrup and drizzle it over the muffins. Leave the muffins to cool for at least 10mins in the tray so they can absorb the syrup.
8. Eat. Take the leftovers and you can either keep them in a Tupperware for up to 5 days (according to The Kitchn), or you can freeze them and take them out to thaw at room temperature whenever you like.  If you like them hot, you can microwave them before serving.

Tell me if you made them, or if you have any modifications which would make them better. Are my tastebuds weird? Am I the only one who likes these? Should indulgences remain indulgences or is this whole healthy thing a good idea?

x Nat

Leave a Reply

